On/off status behavior

Post here requests for new features about any Devil Technologies product
Havoc911
Posts: 89
Joined: 12 Dec 2017 18:09

On/off status behavior

Post by Havoc911 » 29 Sep 2019 18:30

Is it possible to change the on/off status behavior of the buttons? It would be really useful if the behavior could be changed so that it affected the background color of the button.

Edit: Or the ability to have an "on" and "off" icon image.

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Posts: 226
Joined: 17 Feb 2016 10:46
Location: France

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by Home Studio 87 » 30 Sep 2019 00:31

+1 ;)
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 3x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / iPad 3 Lemur... /

Tumppi
Posts: 170
Joined: 27 Apr 2017 09:20

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by Tumppi » 30 Sep 2019 10:38

+1 8-)
gear:
Nuendo, latest
Pro Tools 12.5
Win10 64bit
Acer 27" touch screen
RME FF800

petermcc
Posts: 13
Joined: 14 Dec 2016 09:41

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by petermcc » 30 Sep 2019 12:00

+1

DT_bettinzana
Posts: 702
Joined: 21 Feb 2016 12:05

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by DT_bettinzana » 30 Sep 2019 14:10

OK!
BUT a "macro button" doesn't have a status; it only fires a macro, nothing more.
That said, what would be the meaning of the "status" if it doesn't exist?
Are we speaking about the same thing?
Silvano Bettinzana
Devil Technologies

Havoc911
Posts: 89
Joined: 12 Dec 2017 18:09

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by Havoc911 » 30 Sep 2019 14:23

DT_bettinzana wrote:
30 Sep 2019 14:10
OK!
BUT a "macro button" doesn't have a status; it only fires a macro, nothing more.
That said, what would be the meaning of the "status" if it doesn't exist?
Are we speaking about the same thing?
I was referring to what's in the attached screen grab. I see what you're saying though about it just firing a macro. Is there a way to have the option to make some buttons latch? For example, click, editors, Q-Link, etc would all stay in the "on" state until the button was pressed again, whereas duplicate track and things that open menus would simply fire as they do currently.
Attachments
On-off status.JPG
On-off status.JPG (35.58 KiB) Viewed 281 times

DT_bettinzana
Posts: 702
Joined: 21 Feb 2016 12:05

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by DT_bettinzana » 30 Sep 2019 18:12

Havoc911 wrote:
30 Sep 2019 14:23
DT_bettinzana wrote:
30 Sep 2019 14:10
OK!
BUT a "macro button" doesn't have a status; it only fires a macro, nothing more.
That said, what would be the meaning of the "status" if it doesn't exist?
Are we speaking about the same thing?
I was referring to what's in the attached screen grab. I see what you're saying though about it just firing a macro. Is there a way to have the option to make some buttons latch? For example, click, editors, Q-Link, etc would all stay in the "on" state until the button was pressed again, whereas duplicate track and things that open menus would simply fire as they do currently.
Hello!
That icons in your published picture are there only to show the aspect of the buttons to help you select the background color.
Honestly, at the time of programming that DTouch window, we had something more in mind, but not for a macro button.

That "latch" status is a non-sense for the current macros. A macro is a serial program which starts, runs and stops after being fired by a button. It cannot be paused in a pending "run" status; it must complete and stop.
What you ask for could be applied to a different type of button, but not to the current macro-buttons.
We are definitely working on a new tool for building control panels; panels in which you will have sliders, buttons with/without status, labels, etc ... something like a Lemur panel inside DTouch. This panels will also be available on the iPad coupled with our new physical-faders controller.
All this is an on-going project. Still in a preliminary prototype status, but definitely a serious project (because it will be the core of our HW controller :D).
Silvano Bettinzana
Devil Technologies

Havoc911
Posts: 89
Joined: 12 Dec 2017 18:09

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by Havoc911 » 30 Sep 2019 19:28

I think I'm not expressing myself properly, however it sounds as if the new control panels are close to what I'm asking for. Do you have an approximate time frame for this development? Do you need testers?

petermcc
Posts: 13
Joined: 14 Dec 2016 09:41

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by petermcc » 01 Oct 2019 10:18

Funny how things come back around !!! Great to hear you have a cunning plan.

My post from 2017

latching macro ???
Post by petermcc » 13 Jan 2017 12:57

Is it possible to setup a macro that will latch between on and off.

An example of this would be the metronome on off switch in Cubase. This will do two functions. Switch on when current state is off, switch off when current state is on.

It would seem most of what is needed is already there as the dtouch macro buttons understand to change colour when on or off.

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Posts: 226
Joined: 17 Feb 2016 10:46
Location: France

Re: On/off status behavior

Post by Home Studio 87 » 01 Oct 2019 13:15

something like a Lemur panel inside DTouch.
OOOOOOHHHHHHHh nice.... very nice.... With a "editor" to build our custom panel (like lemur) ?
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 3x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / iPad 3 Lemur... /

Post Reply